The Hartwood House is a unique property with many possible uses (wedding venue, B&B, vineyard, horse farm). The home with 10 acres is being sold with adjacent land for a told of 34.28 acres. Manor House, Carriage House, Barn, Shed, Covered Bridge, Pond and Creek. Pictures show the prior use as a wedding venue. The home and barn are circa 1800. The manor house features a new roof in 2022, new deck in 2022, 5 fireplaces, original wood plank floors, 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 2 half baths, library with built in custom cherry bookcases, living room, dining room, kitchen, sitting room, surround sound throughout and walk up attic as well as an unfinished basement. The kitchen boasts a huge L shaped island with granite counter tops. The Carriage House (built in 1976 approx.) features a fireplace, hardwood floors, 2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, kitchen, finished loft and a new deck in 2022 as well as attic storage space. Both homes are scheduled to be painted and new gutters being installed by mid-July.
The home was built between 1810-1818 by William Irving (Irvine), the house was named "Hartwood" - "Hart" being old English for deer. Bricks for the main house were both "ballast brick"-taken from ocean-going sailing ships arriving in Falmouth harbor and on-site. The original Irving estate was over 5,000 acres. William Irvine was an Irish immigrant.
Hartwood’s house and barn were saved from demolition in 1972, during the widening of Route 17, by Virginia Governor Lynwood Holton, after a last minute appeal by the Historic Falmouth Foundation and the Virginia Landmarks’ Commission. Former owner, Charles E. Hudson renovated the home from 1976 until 1985.
From October 1862 to May 1863, the house was occupied by Colonel William Averells’ 3rd Pennsylvania Cavalry (the “Keystone” Troopers”) and was used as a Union Cavalry picket headquarters. During this time, two “skirmishes as Hartwood” were recorded in both Union and Confederate reports (O.R.). In November of 1862 under the command of Confederate Colonel Fitzhugh Lee (cousin of Robert E. Lee), the house was captured with 9 Union dead and 125 Union captured. Lee retreated back across the Rappahannock four days later taking his prisoners with him. Five months later, in March 1863, Confederate Cavalry Colonel Wade Hampton repeated Lee’s earlier success by capturing and re-occupying the house for a short time.
The eighteen-year-old grandson of Hartwood owner William Irving (Irvine) enlisted in the 9th VA Cavalry in 1861. In November 1862, home on furlough, young Irving was captured by the Union Cavalry and was tried and convicted as a spy – being technically behind enemy lines at that time in civilian clothes. Union fevers were high as they had just been disastrously defeated at Fredericksburg (December 12-14) with 12,700 Union casualties.
He was sentenced “…to be hung by the neck until he be dead…,” sentence to be carried out December 21, 1862. Appeals to the Union Commander Burnside by his family and sweetheart failed. But on December 19, 1862, Union Commander Ambrose Burnside received a letter from General Robert E. Lee, Commander of opposing Confederate forces and the boy’s death sentence was commuted. He went on to serve the Confederacy throughout the war.
Articles and documents with more information can be found in the document section.
Courtesy of: United Real Estate Premier, Inc. Listing information provided courtesy of the Bright MLS. IDX information is provided exclusively for consumers' personal, non-commercial use, and it may not be used for any purpose other than to identify prospective properties consumers may be interested in purchasing. The data is deemed reliable, but is not guaranteed accurate by the MLS. Updated: 10th August, 2022 7:46 PM (UTC)
No featured listings found
Unfortunately, we don't have any featured listings at the moment.